Obtaining a Marriage License

Marriage Licenses in Vermont are issued by the Town Clerk in the town of residence for either party; if neither party is a Vermont resident, then the license may be obtained from any town clerk in the State. A Marriage license costs $60 and a certified copy may be sent to you following the ceremony @ $10.00 per copy.

The Middlebury Clerk’s Office is open Monday - Thursday, 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m., but to get a license you must arrive before 5:00 pm. Plan to spend about ½ hour in the Clerk’s Office, and be prepared to show picture ID, a birth certificate, and verification of the dissolution of a previous marriage or  civil union. The couple is responsible to make arrangements with an officiant to perform the ceremony. The following Justices of the Peace perform marriage ceremonies in Middlebury. Charges and fees for performing the ceremony are negotiated directly with individual Justices. 

Town of Middlebury
Justices of the Peace Who Perform Marriages
 Julie B. Coons  802-388-2916  jbcoons14@comcast.net
 David Dorman  802-989-3198  dorman@middlebury.edu
 Kerri Duquette-Hoffman    klouray@gmail.com
 Alice George  802-388-9717  alicemgeorge@comcast.net
 Carolyn Kuebler  802-398-1420  carolyn.kuebler@gmail.com
 Margaret "Peg" Martin  802-388-7697  pmartin@middlebury.edu
 Michael Olinick  802-443-5559  molinick@middlebury.edu
 Dave Silberman  626-864-2147  dave.silberman@gmail.com

 

 Return to Top















alicemgeorge@comcast.net