Conservation Commission Members and Meeting Schedule

The Conservation Commission is a staffed working group completing conservation-related tasks with the primary purpose of supporting the Planning Commission and Development Review Board.  The commission is currently composed of seven (7) volunteers appointed by the Selectboard, possessing related background experience.  The Conservation Commission works under the guidance of the Town Planner, who provides technical assistance and serves as liaison between the Conservation Commission, Planning Commission, DRB, Selectboard and related Town departments.

1) Work with the Town Planner to act as an advisory committee to the DRB, providing opinions on applications with potential impacts on protected natural resources in Middlebury.
2) To undertake inventories, studies and other projects as requested, for use by the Planning Commission and Town Planner in updating the Town Plan and Zoning and Subdivision Regulations.
3) Provide community education and outreach on conservation issues as needed.

See navigation menu to the left for agendas, minutes and the commission document library.

Regular Conservation Commission Meetings:

When:   3rd Monday of the month
Time:    1:00 pm
Where:  Room 118
             Town Offices
             77 Main Street

Times and dates of meetings sometimes change for various reasons, so you should check the Agenda page on this site to verify date, time and location.

Conservation Commission members:

  • Molly Anderson
  • Christopher Brooks
  • Carol Harden (Chair)
  • Jeff Howarth 
  • Andrew L’Roe 
  • Amy Sheldon
  • Charlotte Tate (Vice-Chair)

All communications to the conservation commission should be directed to:

Jennifer Murray, AICP
Director of Planning & Zoning
Town of Middlebury
77 Main Street
Middlebury, VT  05753
(802) 388-8100 x210